Common European Framework

An objective frame for language levels

You always work towards your own goals during the course. At the end of the course, your team of trainers also assesses your skills based on the CEF.

To determine the skill levels of course members, we use the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). This framework establishes what you will need to have mastered per level in order to function at that level in the foreign language.

Language Competences

The CEFR distinguishes between five language areas: reading, listening, conversing, speaking and writing. Your competences are evaluated both at the intake and at the end of the training.

Language levels

There are six degrees of language mastery. In order to bring further nuance to these, we at Regina Coeli split each level one degree further. Schematically it looks like this:


The time it takes to advance one full CEFR level increases with each level because the range of language skills per level increases as well. We would be happy to explain the CEFR further at your personal intake.

Are you interested in language and career?

Just leave your email address with us and we will be happy to keep you informed.